James Jamerson – Standing in the Shadows of Motown

James Jamerson Standing in the Shadows of Motown PDF

James Jamerson Standing in the Shadows of Motown PDF + Mp3 CD download. Bassist James Jamerson was the embodiment of the Motown spirit and groove – the invisible entity whose playing inspired thousands and made it impossible for anyone to sit still while listening to a Motown record. 49 note-for-note transcribed musical scores, two hours of recorded all-star performances. This folio also features a 2-CD set that includes performances of Jamerson’s bass lines by such noted bassists as Geddy Lee of Rush, Will Lee, John Patitucci, John Entwistle of the Who, Francis Rocco Prestia of Tower of Power, and Jack Bruce, just to name a few!

Songs include:

  • What’s Going on – Marvin Gaye
  • Ain’t That Peculiar [Excerpt] – Marvin Gaye
  • My Guy [Excerpt] – Mary Wells
  • I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Gladys Knight & the Pips
  • Ain’t Too Proud to Beg [Excerpt] – Temptations
  • Going to a Go-Go [Excerpt] – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
  • Contract on Love [Excerpt] – Stevie Wonder
  • Darling Dear – Jackosn 5
  • You Can’t Hurry Love [Excerpt] – Supremes
  • Shotgun [Excerpt] – Jr. Walker & the All Stars
  • Reach Out I’ll Be There – Four Tops
  • For Once in My Life – Stevie Wonder
  • I Second That Emotion [Excerpt] – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
  • (I Know) I’m Losing You [Excerpt] – Temptations
  • Get Ready [Excerpt] – Temptations
  • Bernadette – Four Tops
  • Cloud Nine [Excerpt] – Temptations
  • You Keep Me Hanging on [Excerpt] – Supremes
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough [Chorus] – Diana Ross
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough [Bridge] – Diana Ross
  • I’m Gonna Make You Love Me – Diana Ross, Supremes, and Temptations
  • Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue) [Excerpt] – Temptations
  • Baby Love [Excerpt] – Supremes
  • It’s a Shame – Spinners
  • How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You) – Jr. Walker & the All Stars
  • Heat Wave [Excerpt] – Martha & the Vandellas
  • Mickey’s Monkey [Excerpt] – Miracles
  • Don’t Mess with Bill – Marvelettes
  • It’s the Same Old Song [Excerpt] – Four Tops
  • Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over) [Excerpt] – Four Tops
  • Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
  • Uptight (Everything’s Alright) [Excerpt] – Stevie Wonder
  • (I’m a) Roadrunner [Excerpt] – Jr. Walker & the All Stars
  • Still Water (Love) [Excerpt] – Four Tops
  • My Baby Loves Me [Excerpt] – Martha & the Vandellas
  • Home Cookin’ – Jr. Walker & the All Stars
  • Just a Little Misunderstanding [Excerpt] – Contours
  • Come ‘Round Here (I’m the One You Need) [Excerpt] – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
  • This Old Heart of Mine [Excerpt] – Isley Brothers
  • Strange I Know [Excerpt] – Marvelettes
  • Love Is Like an Itching in My Heart [Excerpt] – Supremes
  • I Was Made to Love Her – Stevie Wonder
  • Nowhere to Run – Martha & the Vandellas
  • Love Is Here and Now You’re Gone [Excerpt] – Supremes
  • Since I Lost My Baby [Excerpt] – Temptations
  • I’m Wondering [Excerpt] – Stevie Wonder
  • How Long Has That Evening Train Been Gone – Diana Ross & the Supremes
  • Non-Motown Medley

This book and CD combination examines the music of James Jamerson, the studio bassist on most of the early Motown hits. Until rather recently, Jamerson was unknown to the general public and not widely known to musicians. Nonetheless, his playing was very influential and many bassists today consider his playing the gold standard of bass guitar in popular music.
This book is valuable as a reference for the history of Motown, but it is primarily a teaching tool. It is organized into three parts. The first pages give a biography of Jamerson and put his work into historical context. Part two is a compilation of data: descriptions of bass equipment, recording facilities, accompanists, and discography. Also included in this section is a four page “Appreciation of Style” by Anthony Jackson that attempts to analyze the musical elements that made Jamerson unique. Part three contains transcriptions of Jamerson bass lines and accompanying text. The transcriptions go with the CDs described below.

Format: PDF + CD Mp3 tracks. 55 pages

Download James Jamerson – Standing in the Shadows of Motown PDF free and other books from our site. Only high quality PDF scans. Please write a review, it's important for our community.

Download PDF
Apr 14, 2021    , ,

4 reviews on James Jamerson – Standing in the Shadows of Motown

  1. I can’t download the file, unless I am a premium member. Is that right?

  2. yes please, could someone upload it somewhere with free access please 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *